Challenges & Opportunities

Hapag-Lloyd - similar to many of its competitors - has already pushed ahead with several digital initiatives, e.g. to improve customer service through innovative solutions or to develop new business models. For example, the booking process for container freight was no longer up-to-date and urgently needed to be improved. Together with Etribes, the first project made a sustainable & direct impact on the core business. The newly developed tool "Quick Quotes" generated a turnover of approx. € 700 million in 2018.

Digital enabling

The three-phase project enabled the company to develop new business models independently.

ic_task-force Created with Sketch.

Development of the digital unit

The newly established Digital Channel and Incubation Unit merged and streamlined all previous digital initiatives. The operating model, developed for this purpose, enables Hapag-Lloyd to implement new digital projects with high speed and clear objectives.

Scaling

Rollout & Scaling

While the DCIU was still being developed, a first lighthouse project was implemented with "Quick Quotes". The quote generation for container spaces could thus be reduced from 48h to a few seconds. Through an MVP approach, the customer's most significant problem was solved in a short time.

knowlegde

Developing internal skills

To ensure the sustainable success of the DCIU, Etribes recruited the required people - including the current Managing Director. To ensure a high level of knowledge transfer to Hapag-Lloyd, objectives & working methods were laid down in the "Digital Playbook".

months

Duration of project

Digital Minds

Project team members

Disciplines

Top-Line Impact

With the Digital Unit and the ability to develop and implement innovative products independently, the company is able to actively shape the digital future and to break new ground. The employees also trust and support new digital projects. Thanks to the rapid implementation and worldwide rollout of ""Quick Quotes"", Hapag-Lloyd already generated 6% (approx. €700m) of total turnover with the tool in the first half of the year. The estimate for 2019 is more than €1 billion.

PXG Health Tech

PXG Health Tech

Swarovski

Swarovski

Förch

Förch

Contact us now

Get in contact with us now and start your digital transformation

Herausforderungen & Potenziale

Hapag-Lloyd trieb - ähnliche wie viele Mitbewerber - bereits mehrere Digitalinitativen voran, um z.B. den Kundenservice durch innovative Lösungen zu verbessern oder neue Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln. So war der Buchungsprozess von Containerfrachten nicht mehr zeitgemäß und musste dringend verbessert werden. Gemeinsam mit Etribes konnte im Projekt ein nachhaltiger & direkter Einfluss auf das Kerngeschäft erzielt werden. Das neu entwickelte Tool “Quick Quotes” erzielte 2018 einen Umsatz in Höhe von ca. 700 Mio. €.

Digital Enabling

Durch das aus drei Phasen bestehende Projekt, wurde das Unternehmen in die Lage versetzt eigenständig neue Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln.

ic_task-force Created with Sketch.

Aufbau Digital Unit

Die neu aufgebaute Digital Channel and Incubation Unit bündelte und ordnete alle bisherigen Digitalinitativen. Das hierfür entwickelte Operating Model ermöglicht die Umsetzung neuer Digitalprojekte mit hoher Geschwindigkeit und klarer Zielsetzung.

Scaling

Rollout & Scaling

Noch während des Aufbaus der DCIU wurde mit “Quick Quotes” ein erstes Leuchtturmprojekt umgesetzt. Die Angebotserstellung für Containerplätze konnte somit von 48h auf wenige Sekunden verringert werden. Durch einen MVP Ansatz wurde in kurzer Zeit das größte Problem der Kunden gelöst.

knowlegde

Aufbau interner Kompetenzen

Um den nachhaltigen Erfolg der DCIU sicherzustellen, rekrutierte Etribes die passenden & benötigten Mitarbeiter - so auch den derzeitigen Managing Director. Um eine hohe Wissensvermittlung an Hapag-Lloyd sicherzustellen, wurden im “Digital Playbook” Zielsetzung & Arbeitsweise festgehalten.

Monate

Projektdauer

Digital Minds

Projektmitarbeiter

Disziplinen

Top-Line Impact

Mit der Digital Unit und der Fähigkeit, innovative Produkte selbstständig zu entwickeln und umzusetzen, ist das Unternehmen in der Lage die digitale Zukunft aktiv zu gestalten und neue Wege zu beschreiten. Auch die Mitarbeiter vertrauen auf neue Digitalprojekte und unterstützen diese.

Durch die schnelle Umsetzung und den weltweiten Rollout von “Quick Quotes” konnte Hapag-Lloyd bereits im ersten Halbjahr 6 % (ca. 700 Mio. €) des Gesamtumsatzes über das Tool generieren. Die Schätzung für 2019 steht bei mehr als 1 Milliarde Euro.

Jetzt Kontakt aufnehmen

Treten Sie jetzt mit uns in Kontakt und starten Sie ihren digitalen Wandel